Conserving Energy

It’s so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of every day. I have a bad habit of taking on more than I normally should. In the end, I always feel very accomplished but it comes with a price. The price for that oh so good feeling of accomplishment many times is energy.

Today one of my students walked with me to the store and on our way back to the soccer field we saw his team warming up. I told him to run to where the other kids were warming up and he turns to me and says, “No Miss Sword. I need to save my energy for the game. I can always warm up on my own but once I use my energy running to them it will be difficult getting it back for the game.” 

Pretty genius words from a sixth grader right? I re-evaluated my priorities at that point and had to re-focus where my energy is being spent. I put just as much energy into priorities that aren’t as important (although they seem to be) with my priorities that actually require that much energy. It’s never easy prioritizing or finding balance, but it’s a necessity.

In the Bible, God created the world in six days and made sure He rested on the seventh day. This just goes to show how much rest is actually a necessity. God created the idea of rest for a reason. Without rest, there is no energy. If a battery is continually used without being put on a charger, eventually it will die out and be useless.

How do you conserve your energy? 

Leave a Reply

