Sudden Downpour

It was sunny when you left home, so you didn’t take an umbrella. An hour later, you’re caught in a torrential downpour. You run into the first store you can find — it happens to be a dark, slightly shabby antique store, full of old artifacts, books, and dust. The shop’s ancient proprietor walks out of the back room to greet you. 

I jumped at the sound of a woman’s greeting and quickly turned around bumping into a case that contained a space suit. The woman snickered a little as I grabbed the case before it fell over knocking who knows what else over. “Sorry. I didn’t…” She smiled, waved her hand and cut me off, “It’s fine, dear. No harm done.” 

She had a very sweet demeanor with a tired look to her. There was something about her which made me somewhat uncomfortable despite her politeness.”Unfortunate weather today.” She said looking out the window,”I’ll go grab you a towel from the back. Feel free to look around.” She disappeared behind the door at the back of the room. Suddenly, the power in the shop went out killing what little light was in that shop. I looked out and saw the wind had picked up. A tree was being blow mercilessly in the wind and had snagged a power line.

“Great! Just my luck. I thought to myself. I saw an old gas lantern hanging next to the case I nearly knocked over and reached for my lighter in my purse to light it hoping there was some gas in it. Fortunately for me, there was and I hoped it would last throughout the storm. As I lit the lantern, I noticed a ticket stub on the window sill and picked it up to look at it.

I read the “Admit One” words on it. A bell dinged. I turned and raised my lantern in the direction of the sound I had heard. Curiosity and fear gripped me. My curiosity of course got the best of me. As I walked in the direction of the sound, I accidentally walked into a barrel of pebbles. I picked up a couple of the pebbles. Each had a southeast rune carved into it.

I began to go through the barrel looking at the pebbles with the different carvings. “Find something interesting?” I heard the shop owner say. I jumped again. She laughed, “Relax, dear, there’s nothing in here that’ll hurt you. Well, maybe that old lady back there might.” She looked in the direction of a golden dragon statuette. “But most of these items are pretty harmless.

I sighed in relief and turned to look at the statuette she referred to. As I met the gaze of the golden dragon statuette, it sent an eerie feeling down my spine. I tore my eyes away from the beautiful statuette and looked outside to check the weather. The rain was starting to let up.

“I saw you looking at the carvings,” she said with a creepy, sly smile. Her smile was the third clue to get out of the ancient shop before something happened. “I was. The carvings are quite intriguing but I should get going. I’m running late.”

I walked as fast as I could towards the door. A rake fell in front me stopping me in my pursuit to leave. I turned and saw the statuette’s eyes glow and the shop owner chanting each pebble I had laid out. I couldn’t move. The statuette had me trapped in its gaze. A key floated in front of me. I couldn’t help but reach for it. I touched the key then…FlASH.


Since today’s daily prompt made me think of writing a narrative or short story, I figured why not kill two birds with one stone. So I combined the two challenges to create this narrative with these nouns I got from @YouAreCarrying on Twitter: a space suit, a ticket stub, the third clue, a southeast rune, a power line, a rake, a golden dragon statuette, a key.

Daily Prompt: Sudden Downpour

Weekly Writing Challenge: The Ray Bradbury Noun List Twist

4 thoughts on “Sudden Downpour

  1. Pingback: Night Carnival [FLASH FICTION] | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Muffins & Red Wine [a letter] | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

